Start main content

I-Move-to-Learn

Case of one-year-old child: Chung Ki is doing a ‘row a boat’ training.

Case of one-year-old child: Chung Ki is doing a 'row a boat' training.

Case of three-year-old child: Lok Ching has difficulty in keeping balance.

Case of three-year-old child: Lok Ching has difficulty in keeping balance.

Case of five-year-old child: Wang Sum is doing a “Making X” exercise.

Case of five-year-old child: Wang Sum is doing a "Making X" exercise.

Preterm infants generally take longer to grow and adapt to the environment than full-term infants. Parents should consult a physiotherapist and conduct a detailed assessment as soon as possible if they find their baby having the following problems at certain corrected ages:
 
  • Failure to keep his head at midline when sitting on the ground by the age of 6 months
  • Failure to lift his tummy off the ground or having a strange posture when crawling by the age of 9 months
  • Failure to stand by the age of 1
  • Failure to walk by the age of 1.5
  • Failure to walk steadily, climb up and down a chair, walk up and down stairs, do simple movements such as throwing and kicking balls, and imitate doing housework
  • Failing to hop on both feet by the age of 2.5
 
According to the clinical experience of physiotherapists team in Heep Hong Society, most preterm infants are at high risk of developmental problems in different intensity. Early identification and specific training can facilitate the overall development of preterm infants. Physiotherapists can conduct a standardised assessment on the physical development of premature babies to analyse their difficulties in development and learning. Training goals and suitable activities will be designed according to the needs of each preterm infant so as to help them achieve developmental targets through diversified training activities. Suggestions will also be made to parents and caregivers in conducting training activities at home.
Research shows that preterm babies generally have a higher chance of developing learning difficulties and disorders than full-term infants before starting primary school. The smaller gestational age is (under 32 weeks) and the lower the birth weight is (less than 2 kg), the higher the incidence of learning difficulties and disorders is. Early training can effectively reduce the influence of these difficulties and disorders on the future learning of preterm babies. (Johnson, 2017; Jaekel & Wolke, 2014)
 
Physiotherapists team of Heep Hong Society has developed the I-Move-to-Learn treatment for preterm children with learning difficulties, which features of multiple movements training to enhance neurological networking, physical development and learning abilities among preterm children.

Activities will be different according to children's ability. If you have any questions, please consult your physiotherapist.

主内容開始

從『身』學習治療

一歳兒童個案:頌淇正在進行「搖小船」訓練。

一歳兒童個案:頌淇正在進行「搖小船」訓練。

三歳兒童個案:諾呈有平衡欠佳的發展困難。

三歳兒童個案:諾呈有平衡欠佳的發展困難。

五歲兒童個案:宏琛正在進行「交叉手腳」訓練。

五歲兒童個案:宏琛正在進行「交叉手腳」訓練。

早產嬰幼兒0-2歲體能發展困難及小貼士:前編

 

早產嬰幼兒0-2歲體能發展困難及小貼士:後編 

早產嬰兒的發展,比足月生產的嬰兒,需要較長的時間及較多的適應,如家長發覺早產兒日常的表現,在矯正年齡有以下的情況,家長便需儘快向物理治療師查詢及作詳細的評估:
 
.六個月的嬰兒坐在地時,頭部還未能保持於中線
.九個月的嬰兒在地上爬行時腹部貼地或姿勢奇怪
.一歲還未懂站立
.一歲半還未懂開步行
.兩歲仍走得不穩、不會自行上落椅子、不會上落樓梯、不會簡單的拋波或踢球、不會模仿做家
.兩歲半還不會雙腳跳
 
從協康會物理治療團隊的臨床經驗中,大多數的早產兒,都是面臨不同程度發展障礙的高危一族,及早的識別及針對性的訓練,能幫助早產兒整體的發展。物理治療師會為早產兒進行標準化的體能發展評估,繼而分析影響幼兒發展及學習的問題所在,並根據不同年齡早產兒的需要,訂立訓練目標及設計適切的訓練活動,讓早產兒透過多元化的活動達到發展目標,及建議及教授家長及照顧者推行家居訓練活動。 

 

早產嬰幼兒2-4歲體能發展困難及小貼士:前編 

早產嬰幼兒2-4歲體能發展困難及小貼士:後編 

研究指出,早產幼兒成長至小學階段時,出現學習困難/障礙的機會,一般較足月出生的兒童為大。如果出生時懷孕周數愈少(< 32周),出生體重愈低(< 2千克),出現學習困難/障礙的機會便會愈大。及早的訓練能有效減少對早產兒將來學習的影響。(Johnson, 2017; Jaekel & Wolke, 2014)
 
協康會物理治療團隊針對有學習困難的早產兒,設計了一套「從『身』學習(I-Move-to-Learn)」的治療方法,幫助有學習困難的早產兒,透過多元動作的訓練,激活腦部神經協調,促進他們的體能發展,及提升他們的學習能力。

 

早產嬰幼兒4-6歲體能發展困難及小貼士:前編 

 

早產嬰幼兒4-6歲體能發展困難及小貼士:後編 

活動內容因人而異,如有疑問,請參照物理治療師的建議。