Skip to main content
Start main content

Appropriate training

Generally, babies reach certain milestones at different stages of their chronological age, which is calculated from the date of birth. However, the development of preterm babies during the first two years is measured based on their corrected age, which is their chronological age adjusted for the number of weeks of prematurity. For example, if a preterm infant was born at a gestational age of 32 weeks, the corrected age would be 10 months old when thechronological age is 1 year old.

The health of preterm infants should be the top, if not sole, priority for parents as these infants are particularly vulnerable after birth. However, overprotection can become a hindrance to the development of preterm infants. Hence, parents should learn to strike a balance between the health and development of their baby. Research shows that providing appropriate training in a timely manner can facilitate the overall development of preterm babies.
 
Progressive training should be provided to premature infants, starting from the easiest ones. Parents should pay careful attention to the response of their baby, and help the baby grow from a helpless newborn to an active explorer who can adapt himself to the environment. Training can be provided to preterm infants in three aspects:
 
  • Interaction between parents and the baby
Preterm infants feel safer with a close parental bond, which serves as the fundamental step in their social development. Parents should establish and strengthen their relationship with the baby step by step. When the baby is awake, parents can engage in face-to-face interaction with it by encouraging it to touch the parents’ face and talking to it. When the baby makes non-spontaneous limb movements or noises, parents can gently describe the baby's gesture, or immediately imitate its noises in response.
 
  • Nurturing emotional development
As most preterm infants are weaker than their full-term counterparts, they may have less exposure to new things and challenges due to overprotection from their parents. This can cause preterm infants to appear relatively emotionally or psychologically dependent on their parents. Parents should guide and help their baby develop adaptive skills by providing them with the time and space to respond to the environment. Under safe circumstances, parents can leave their children to cry for a while. Once the baby knows how to sit, parents should encourage the baby to get up by itself after falling over.
 
  • Sensorimotor development
Diversified stimulation through different sensory modes should be provided to guide babies to react, thereby facilitating their brain and physical development. Preterm babies tend to be placed on their backs in bed for a prolonged period after birth. Various training activities should be conducted at home to build the baby's mobility.
 
Parents can read the Big Feet Playground–Sensorimotor and Physical Activities for Children 0-3 Years book published by a team of physiotherapists of Heep Hong Society in 2015 to come up with training games to play with their baby at home based on his corrected age, in order to enhance his neurological coordination and motor skills. However, preterm infants tend to overreact to sensory stimulation. Parents must pay attention to the reaction of the infant and provide stimuli progressively. If parents have any enquiries about training activities, they should consult a physiotherapist. 
 
Reference book
 

Training for preterm babies during their first six months of life are generally focused on their emotional and adaptive capabilities. Activities should be appropriate for the capabilities of the infant to allow it to enjoy the sensory games and lay a solid foundation for subsequent training. After the first half year, preterm babies should be encouraged to be more active. Parents should monitor the performance of their baby and help it achieve different developmental targets at certain ages.

主内容開始

合適的訓練

一般嬰兒會隨著實際年齡的增長而達成特定的發展里程碑,實際年齡是從出生一刻開始計算。但早產兒在兩歲前,我們會參照矯正年齡來衡量嬰兒發展的情況,矯正年齡是把實際年齡因應早產周數作調整。例如:一名在懷孕32周出生的早產兒,在實際年齡一歲時,矯正年齡便是10個月大。

由於早產嬰兒在出生時身體太弱,父母會以早產兒的健康成為考慮的首位或全部。但過份的呵護,會成為早產兒往後成長的障礙之一,父母需要在健康與發展之間取的平衡。研究發現,及早接受合適的訓練,能幫助早產嬰幼兒整體的發展。
早產兒的訓練要循序漸進,由極溫柔的訓練開始,並留意嬰兒對訓練的反應,協助他們從極需照顧,逐步發展至自我適應及主動探索。早產兒的訓練可以從以下三方面入手:
 
親子互動
與父母親密的親子關係,給予早產嬰幼兒安全感,是他們發展與環境事物及他人互動的重要基礎。家長應逐步與建立及鞏固與早產兒的親子關係,當嬰兒清醒時,可與嬰兒作面對面的交流,可多讓嬰兒觸摸父母的臉孔及與嬰兒說話,當嬰兒不隨意地活動手腳,或發出聲音時,可溫柔地形容嬰兒的動作,或即時模仿嬰兒發出的聲音作回應。
 
情緒培育
早產嬰兒大多體弱,極受父母的呵護,亦因此而缺乏了接受新事物或新挑戰的機會,情緒或心理表現會較依賴。家長應漸漸給予嬰幼兒發展自我適應的能力,可給予時間和空間,讓嬰幼兒自行嘗試對環境事物作出反應,或在安全的情況下,嘗試讓嬰幼兒喊一會。若嬰兒已學會坐,當不小心跌倒,應讓他們自行爬起身。
 
感知肌動
給予多元化的感官刺激,引導嬰兒作出動作反應,有助早產兒啟發腦部及體能的發展。早產嬰兒在出世後長時間臥在床上,姿勢較為單一,需要有不同的家居活動,逐步增加早產嬰兒的活動能力。
家長可參考協康會物理治療團隊在2015年出版的《大腳板運動場-0至3歲嬰幼兒親子感知體能活動》一書,按嬰幼兒的矯正年齡,在家中進行親子遊戲,啟發嬰幼兒的腦部神經協調,及促進身體動作能力發展。但早產兒對感官刺激容易有過大的反應,父母要留意嬰兒的反應,循序漸進地給予感官刺激。家長若對訓練活動有任何疑問,請找物理治療師查詢。
 
Book reference
 
一般早產兒的訓練,在首半年會多注意嬰兒的情緖及適應能力,活動要因應嬰兒的能力而點到即止,讓嬰兒愉快地進行感知遊戲,逐步建立往後訓練的基礎。及至六個月以上早產嬰兒的訓練,可以讓他們出力多些,多加留意嬰兒的表現,盡量以達到適齡發展為目標。